Posted by: Professionals In Human Resources Association (PIHRA) | February 13, 2013

February President’s Message

We want to thank everyone for their attendance at the PIHRA® Legal Updates that were held this past month. We have heard positive feedback from many of you and are anxious to receive more. Your feedback is what makes the Legal Update a success. I would like to thank all of the volunteers and the PIHRA staff for all of their hard work to make this program so successful.

This month I want to discuss the importance of HR Certification. One thing I try to do as a Human Resource professional is to try to increase my knowledge in this exciting profession. I constantly look at the different positions available in the Human Resource profession. During my search, I am noticing more that employers now prefer to hire Human Resource professionals with certifications. Those that are certified understand the importance of keeping their knowledge current. That is why we, as an association, are making a concentrated effort to provide recertification credits for our monthly meetings and PIHRA wide programs. Let me tell you my journey to certification. As I have mentioned before I have been in HR since 1987. I decided in 2001 that I would take the SPHR. I did not pass. After that I took the SPHR 4 more times in the next 6 years. Same result as the first time. I really felt it was important to have that certification, but as most of you know the certification test is not cheap. I took a 3 year break and tried again in 2010 and due to some recommendations from my colleagues I took the PHR. I felt I had prepared better than I ever had before. My score was a 494 (500 needed to pass). I took it again in 2011 and I received a 497. As you probably can sense I was at my wit’s end. To bring this story to a close, I knew the importance of having the certification, but was not sure if I wanted to put my family through this again. With encouragement from my wife and her knowing the importance of it to me, I gave it another shot. On January 5, 2013 in Anaheim, I took the test again. Those that have taken the test and see the white screen that comes up before a pass or fail comes on the screen know how anxious I was. When it notified me that I passed, emotions were at a high level. Not because I had passed test, but because I reached a goal that alluded me for over 10 years. Why do I tell you this story? It is because I feel that every Human Resource professional needs to attain that certification. Whatever it takes, I encourage you to make that effort.

Wayne L. Munyer, PHR
2013-14 Volunteer PIHRA President

Leave a Reply

Categories

