Posted by: Professionals In Human Resources Association (PIHRA) | April 10, 2013

April President’s Message

The first quarter of the year has just flown buy. I hope you have accomplished the things you wanted to do or on your way to accomplishing your goals professionally and personally. Before I get into the main part of my message, I want to mention my support to an event that we as PIHRA have been involved in for many years. That is the Revlon Walk. It always takes place the day before Mother’s Day at the Los Angeles Coliseum (May 11 this year). I went for the first time last year with my wife and we had a wonderful time and we are planning to do it again this year, but inviting my children to come with us. It is a great way to meet other PIHRA members, who you may not have the opportunity to meet and in a different setting. It is for a great cause concerning Cancer research. Please read the details in this month’s PIHRAeScope in an article written by Lynn Gleim and come join in this fun filled day.

This month, I would like to talk about PIHRA involvement. I briefly mentioned it my message in January, but I feel it is important enough to focus on it more closely. I have found that being involved in PIHRA has been a great benefit for me personally and professionally. When I first joined PIHRA in the late 1980’s (PIRA back then), I just wanted to go to meetings to receive information to help me be better in my new profession. I had no idea on how to do my job. I was an accountant for 5 years and I needed a lot of help. So, I started attending my local meetings in Long Beach just wanting to learn. Well I was approached the District Chair, if I recall at my very first meeting to assist on the local board. To be honest, I was very reluctant to do so, but I said why not. This beginning is why I am obviously involved so much now and will continue to be as long as I am Human Resources professional. Every time I have changed jobs, I can attribute my involvement to PIHRA for one of the main reasons I received my new position. As was stated so well by our Immediate Past President, Richard Propster, SPHR-CA, PIHRA is all about “Networking, Learning and Advocacy” and the networking has been that valuable tool for me to be successful in my career.

I would really encourage giving some serious thought in becoming more involved in PIHRA. Please contact your local boards (all of their information with pictures are on the website) to see the process on becoming a part of their team. I look forward to your involvement and if I can be of assistance in any way my email is president@pihra.org.  Have a great month.

Wayne L. Munyer, PHR
2013-14 PIHRA Volunteer President

Leave a Reply

Categories

