Posted by: Professionals In Human Resources Association (PIHRA) | July 10, 2013

July President’s Message

July President’s Message

Just a reminder, our annual conference, the California HR Conference®, will be held on August 26-28, 2013. The next deadline for a price break is July 31. After that it is onsite registration only. Go to http://cahrconference.org for further information. You do not want to miss out at the one of the nation’s largest HR conferences. Hope to see you all there.

This last month I went to SHRM Annual Conference in Chicago. What a great conference with a wealth of information. I want to mention one of the sessions I went to. It was a session where Steve Gilliland, CSP, CPAE spoke on the subject “Making a Difference”. The whole session itself was very uplifting and enlightening. One thing I want to talk about is a statement he made in the very beginning. He ask all of the attendees to think about the five people who have influenced you the most and write down what they did for you to be that influence on you. The first few people were very easy to choose, but the last few were a little more difficult. I eventually completed my list. My first choice was my Father because of the integrity, work ethic and trustworthiness that he instilled in me and my siblings. After I completed this exercise it made me think about is that if I as a person and professional doing those things that someday I may be on someone’s list. I say that in all humility. What does have to do with Human Resources and our profession? I feel we need to be that trusted advisor to all those that we work with. What are we doing to “Make a Difference” in our workplaces and our personal lives? Only you can answer that question. I suggest we do the exercise mentioned above and choose those characteristics and values of those that we have admired and begin or continue to apply them. I know it will make all of us better at what we do. I hope everyone has a great month.

Wayne L Munyer, PHR
2013-14 PIHRA Volunteer President

Leave a Reply

Categories

