Posted by: Professionals In Human Resources Association (PIHRA) | December 16, 2013

November President’s Message

Greetings to all of my PIHRA friends. First of all most of you, if not all of you should have received your membership renewal for the 2014 year. Please renew as soon as you can to make sure your membership does not lapsed. There are many different ways to renew. The simplest is on the online method. Many of the discounts for the annual programs are discounted and it is a great to take advantage of these rates. The first deadline is November 30, 2013 for the Annual Legal Update. If you have any questions about your membership, email the Membership Department at membership@pihra.org.

As we approach the holiday season my mind always make me think of things that I am grateful for and the many blessings I have received over my life. One thing I always remember is the traditions I grew up with and even continue to this day, even though my parents are no longer living. My children continue these traditions in their own homes. Why are traditions so important? In my family it brings us closer together and it is a good excuse to get my family together and share some great memories.

Now what does this have to do with the Human Resources Profession? In my humble opinion I feel the Human Resource can have a profound effect on the culture of any organization. We can assist in establishing values in making our organizations a “Best Place to Work” by the things we establish and the values we portray to our company. Like traditions make families stay close together, having values that become traditions of our organization make it more an enjoyable experience and make employees want to work for you. As I mentioned in my last article, I just left my place of employment that I had been with for almost 9 years. Since I have left I have a lot of communication with a lot of my former co-workers who thanked me for some the values (traditions) that I assisted in establishing and are continuing even after I left. But do you know what the great thing is that they are beginning to establish new values to make the company more valuable their employees.

Let us all evaluate the values and traditions in our organizations. We have all heard of the “Mission, Vision and Values” that all should have in our organizations. It never hurts to take another look at them to see how we can better our organizations.

I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving and I am thankful for all of you and what you do to make PIHRA the “HR Organization of Choice”.

Have a great month!!!

Wayne L. Munyer, PHR
2013-14 Volunteer President

800×600

Greetings to all of my PIHRA friends. First of all most of you, if not all of you should have received your membership renewal for the 2014 year. Please renew as soon as you can to make sure your membership does not lapsed. There are many different ways to renew. The simplest is on the online method. Many of the discounts for the annual programs are discounted and it is a great to take advantage of these rates. The first deadline is November 30, 2013 for the Annual Legal Update. If you have any questions about your membership, email the Membership Department at membership@pihra.org.

As we approach the holiday season my mind always make me think of things that I am grateful for and the many blessings I have received over my life. One thing I always remember is the traditions I grew up with and even continue to this day, even though my parents are no longer living. My children continue these traditions in their own homes. Why are traditions so important? In my family it brings us closer together and it is a good excuse to get my family together and share some great memories.

Now what does this have to do with the Human Resources Profession? In my humble opinion I feel the Human Resource can have a profound effect on the culture of any organization. We can assist in establishing values in making our organizations a “Best Place to Work” by the things we establish and the values we portray to our company. Like traditions make families stay close together, having values that become traditions of our organization make it more an enjoyable experience and make employees want to work for you. As I mentioned in my last article, I just left my place of employment that I had been with for almost 9 years. Since I have left I have a lot of communication with a lot of my former co-workers who thanked me for some the values (traditions) that I assisted in establishing and are continuing even after I left. But do you know what the great thing is that they are beginning to establish new values to make the company more valuable their employees.

Let us all evaluate the values and traditions in our organizations. We have all heard of the “Mission, Vision and Values” that all should have in our organizations. It never hurts to take another look at them to see how we can better our organizations.

I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving and I am thankful for all of you and what you do to make PIHRA the “HR Organization of Choice”.

Have a great month!!!

Wayne L. Munyer, PHR

2013-14 Volunteer President

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”,”serif”;}

Leave a Reply

Categories

