Posted by: Professionals In Human Resources Association (PIHRA) | February 12, 2014

January President’s Message

January President’s Message
by Wayne L. Munyer, PHR
2013-14 Volunteer PIHRA President

Happy New Year PIHRA friends! The three Legal Updates are just around the corner. They are January 9, 2014 in Garden Grove, January 14, 2014 in Ontario and January 16, 2014 in Burbank. Check the http://www.pihra.org website for further information.

The 2013 year was a very good one for PIHRA membership. We ended the year at 3,925 members compared to 3,497 at the end of 2012. This is over a 12% increase from year-to-year. A big thank you goes out to our membership committee headed by Andrea Moroso our Vice President of Membership, who took over in August for Ryan Gowin, who moved to the Pacific Northwest. His efforts did not go unnoticed. Also I would be remised if I did not mention the great assistance that the PIHRA staff, who always give great support to our volunteer team. Keep up the great work. Look out 4,000!

As I mentioned last PIHRA is celebrating 70 years of being the premier HR Association in Southern California. I have had the great opportunity to be a part of this association since 1989 and wow what growth we have had over those years. I remember when we changed our name from “PIRA to PIHRA” in the early 90’s. In the 20 plus years I have been a part of PIHRA, I have learned what it means to be a HR Professional and how I can make a difference in my organization. I have attended the Annual Conference every year since I have been a member and ALWAYS brought back to my organization many great tools to help further the cause in my career. Please use the many tools that PIHRA has to make a difference in your organization.

Whatever we can do as an organization can do for you, please let us know.

Have a great month!!!

Wayne L. Munyer, PHR
2013-14 Volunteer President

Leave a Reply

Categories

